Treatment of femoral neck fracture

|     Total Confirmed 1.139.241|     Total deaths 29.153|     People hospitalized 29|     Total tests 4.881.502|     Total doses vaccinated 14.913.093|     New cases 4.581|     New deaths 48|     New tests 18.443|    ***     More informations here     ***

Femur neck fracture

title

Definition of femoral neck fracture

Treatment of fractured femoral neck in TunisiaThe fracture of the neck of the femur is extremely common, especially in the elderly whose bones are weakened by osteoporosis. Most of the time this fracture is the consequence of a fall, but sometimes it is the spontaneous fracture of the porous bone that causes the fall. However, a young patient, during a major trauma, can also be a victim. The clinical signs are significant pain, the patient's inability to mobilize his lower limb, the lower limb is generally shortened and in external rotation. Pelvis and hip X-rays confirm the clinical diagnosis. The treatment is surgical. The choice of surgical technique depends on whether the fracture is located on the neck of the femur or on the upper end of the femur.

The different surgical procedures depending on the seat of the femur fracture

All the interventions below take place in the operating room in the orthopedic room under rigorously aseptic. The patient benefited from the usual skin preparation in the room before being taken to the operating room.

Osteosynthesis by screwing the neck of the femur

This surgical method is reserved for a small percentage of femoral neck fractures. The fracture is interlocked, the neck of the femur has impacted into the head of the femur, pain on bearing and mobilization raises suspicion of a neck fracture femoral. The patient can generally mobilize the lower limb. Some patients can walk despite the fracture, so it sometimes goes unnoticed for the first few days. Persistent pain leads patients to consult and only radiography can confirm the diagnosis. Without surgical intervention, the fracture risks moving secondarily and requiring more invasive surgery such as a hip prosthesis. The technique recommended in this type of fracture is a conservative intervention: osteosynthesis by screwing. The head and the neck are preserved, the screws come to maintain the fracture while waiting for the osseous consolidation. The patient is installed on a special operating table, "orthopedic table", which allows manipulation of the fractured limb throughout the intervention if necessary. After the usual skin preparation in the operating room, the sterile field is placed. Under radioscopic control the surgeon, after making a small incision on the external face of the upper thigh, places the screws in the neck and the head of the femur. If the quality of the bone is good, weight bearing is authorized postoperatively. The pain, which is not significant, allows a very rapid recovery of autonomy. If the quality of the bone is poor and causes fear of secondary displacement, weight bearing is prohibited or only partially authorized during the time of bone consolidation.

The hip prosthesis

In case of fracture of the neck of the femur moved, the indication of hip prosthesis is indisputable. During a high per trochanteric fracture, two alternatives present themselves, the hip prosthesis or osteosynthesis by intramedullary nail. The greater trochanter is the site of the insertion of many muscles. When the fracture preserves the area of ​​muscle insertions or the greater trochanter can be reinserted, it is sometimes possible to fit a type of prosthesis designed specifically for these fractures. When the location of the fracture and that the general state of the patient allows it, the solution of the hip prosthesis is preferable the recovery of the autonomy being faster. Intermediate hip prosthesis means a prosthesis replacing only the femoral part of the joint. Apart from the first part of the operation aimed at replacing the acetabulum during a total hip prosthesis, the postoperative course and the complications are identical. See total hip prosthesis In disoriented patients, the risks of infection and prosthesis dislocation are increased because they do not demonstrate the necessary compliance in the postoperative period. This non-compliance with instructions and procedures increases postoperative risks.

Osteosynthesis by intramedullary nail

When the fracture is too low or the greater trochanter is fractured, the indication is then osteosynthesis with an intramedullary nail (gamma nail). The patient is installed on a special operating table, “orthopedic table”, which allows manipulation of the fractured limb and obtaining a good reduction for osteosynthesis. After the usual skin preparation in the operating room, the sterile field is placed. Through several incisions, under radioscopic control, the surgeon places the osteosynthesis material: the femoral nail, the cervical screw and the locking screw downstream. Weight bearing is authorized postoperatively depending on the stability of the osteosynthesis and the quality of the bone. If weight bearing is authorized, walking can be resumed the next day, however the pain sometimes lasts for several weeks, making the recovery of autonomy slower than after a hip prosthesis.

Risks and complications of femoral neck fractures

 Phlebitis and its sequelae: despite the systematic implementation of anticoagulant treatment, phlebitis can form. Treated in time, phlebitis does not alter the functional results of the intervention. It is complicated by a pulmonary embolism only exceptionally.
 The hematoma can form in the operating area and often resolves spontaneously, it rarely requires a gesture additional evacuation procedure.
 The secondary displacement of the fracture
 Surgical site infection

• Convalescence dans notre clinique en Tunisie
    Tunisie Esthetic
    Aide, assistance, perfection
  • Chambre
    Le confort de séjour
    et de convalescence
  • Chirurgien de Tunisie Esthetic
    Meilleurs chirurgiens
    diplômés en France ou aux U.S.A
  • Equipe médical de Tunisie Esthetic
    Personnel médical
    hautement qualifié et expérimenté
  • Equipement médical de notre clinique partenaire
    Equipements médicaux
    ultra-modernes

Fracture du col de fémur

title

Définition de la fracture du col de fémur

La fracture du col du fémur est extrêmement courante, surtout chez les personnes âgées dont l’os est fragilisé par l’ostéoporose. La plupart du temps cette fracture est la conséquence d’une chute mais parfois c’est la fracture spontanée de l’os porotique qui provoque la chute. Cependant un patient jeune, lors d’un traumatisme important, peut aussi en être victime. Les signes cliniques sont la douleur importante, l’impossibilité du patient de mobiliser son membre inférieur, le membre inférieur est généralement raccourci et en rotation externe. La radiographie de bassin et de hanche confirme le diagnostic clinique. Le traitement est chirurgical. Le choix de la technique opératoire dépend du siège de la fracture sur le col du fémur ou sur l’extrémité supérieure du fémur.

Les différentes interventions chirurgicales en fonction du siège de la fracture du fémur

Toutes les interventions ci-dessous se déroulent au bloc opératoire en salle d’orthopédie dans des conditions rigoureusement aseptiques.Le patient a bénéficié de la préparation cutanée d'usage en chambre avant d'être conduit au bloc opératoire.

L’ostéosynthèse par vissage du col de fémur

Cette méthode chirurgicale est réservée à un petit pourcentage de fractures du col fémoral.La fracture est engrenée, le col du fémur s’est impacté dans la tête du fémur, la douleur à l’appui et à la mobilisation fait suspecter une fracture du col fémoral.Le patient peut généralement mobiliser le membre inférieur.Certains patients peuvent marcher malgré la fracture, celle-ci passe donc parfois inaperçue les premiers jours. La douleur persistante amène les patients à consulter et seule la radiographie peut affirmer le diagnostic.Sans intervention chirurgicale, la fracture risque de se déplacer secondairement et nécessiter une chirurgie plus invasive à type de prothèse de hanche.La technique préconisée dans ce type de fracture est une intervention conservatrice : l’ostéosynthèse par vissage. La tête et le col sont conservés, les vis viennent maintenir la fracture en attendant la consolidation osseuse. Le patient est installé sur une table opératoire spéciale, « table orthopédique », qui permet de manipuler le membre fracturé pendant toute l’intervention si nécessaire.Après la préparation cutanée d’usage au bloc opératoire, le champ stérile est placé.Sous contrôle radioscopique le chirurgien, après avoir fait une petite incision sur la face externe du haut de la cuisse, place les vis dans le col et la tête du fémur. Si la qualité de l’os est bonne, l’appui est autorisé en postopératoire. La douleur, peu importante permet une reprise de l’autonomie très rapide. Si la qualité de l’os est mauvaise et fait craindre un déplacement secondaire, l’appui est interdit ou seulement partiellement autorisé pendant le temps de la consolidation osseuse.

La prothèse de hanche

En cas de fracture du col du fémur déplacée, l’indication de prothèse de hanche est indiscutable.Lors d’une fracture per trochantérienne haute, deux alternatives se présentent, la prothèse de hanche ou l’ostéosynthèse par clou centromédullaire.Le grand trochanter est le siège de l’insertion de nombreux muscles.Quand la fracture préserve la zone d’insertions musculaires ou que le grand trochanter peut être réinséré, il est parfois possible de poser un type de prothèse conçu spécialement pour ces fractures.Lorsque la localisation de la fracture et que l’état général du patient le permettent, la solution de la prothèse de hanche est préférable la reprise de l’autonomie étant plus rapide. On entend par prothèse de hanche intermédiaire une prothèse remplaçant uniquement la partie fémorale de l’articulation.Hormis la première partie de l’intervention visant à remplacer le cotyle lors d’une prothèse totale de hanche, les suites opératoires et les complications sont identiques.Voir prothèse totale de hancheChez les patients désorientés les risques infectieux et de luxation de prothèse sont majorés car ils ne font pas preuve de la compliance nécessaire dans les suites opératoires, Ce non respect des consignes et des procédures augmente les risques postopératoires.

L’ostéosynthèse par clou centromédullaire

Quand la fracture est trop basse ou que le grand trochanter est fracturé, l’indication est alors l’ostéosynthèse par clou centromédullaire (clou gamma). Le patient est installé sur une table opératoire spéciale, « table orthopédique », qui permet de manipuler le membre fracturé et obtenir une bonne réduction en vue de l’ostéosynthèse. Après la préparation cutanée d’usage au bloc opératoire, le champ stérile est placé.Par plusieurs incisions, sous contrôle radioscopique, le chirurgien pose le matériel d’ostéosynthèse : le clou fémoral, la vis cervicale et la vis de verrouillage en aval. L’appui est autorisé en postopératoire en fonction de la stabilité de l’ostéosynthèse et de la qualité de l'os.En cas d’appui autorisé, la marche peut être reprise dès le lendemain, cependant la douleur perdure parfois pendant plusieurs semaines, rendant la reprise d’autonomie plus lente qu’après une prothèse de hanche.

Les risques et complications des fratures du col du fémur

 La phlébite et ses séquelles: malgré la mise en place systématique d’un traitement anticoagulant, une phlébite peut se constituer. Traitée à temps, la phlébite n’altère en rien les résultats fonctionnels de l’intervention. Elle ne se complique d’une embolie pulmonaire qu’exceptionnellement.
 L’hématome il peut se constituer dans la zone opératoire et se résorbe souvent spontanément, il nécessite rarement un geste opératoire complémentaire d’évacuation.
 Le déplacement secondaire de la fracture
 Infection du site opératoire