Pancreatic cancer treatment

|     Total Confirmed 1.146.991|     Total deaths 29.268|     People hospitalized 44|     Total tests 4.974.456|     Total doses vaccinated 13.155.275|     New cases 192|     New deaths 2|     New tests 2.669|    ***     More informations here     ***

pancreatic cancer


Definition

Pancreatic cancer treatment with Tunisie EstheticPancreatic cancer starts in the tissues of your pancreas - an organ in your abdomen that sits behind the lower part of your stomach. Your pancreas releases enzymes that aid digestion and produces hormones that help manage your blood sugar.
Many types of growths can occur in the pancreas, including cancerous and non-cancerous tumors. The most common type of cancer that forms in the pancreas begins in the cells that line the ducts that carry digestive enzymes out of the pancreas (pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma).
Pancreas cancer is rarely detected in its earliest stages when it is most curable. This is because it often does not cause symptoms before spreading to other organs.
Treatment options for pancreatic cancer are chosen based on the extent of the cancer. Options may include surgery, chemotherapy, radiation therapy, or a combination of these.

Symptoms of pancreatic cancer

Signs and symptoms of pancreatic cancer often only appear when the disease is advanced. They may include:
 Abdominal pain that radiates to the back.
 Loss of appetite or unintentional weight loss.
 Yellowness of your skin and the whites of your eyes (jaundice).
 Dark colored urine.
 Itchy skin.
 New diagnosis of diabetes or existing diabetes that is becoming more difficult to control.
 Blood clots.
 Fatigue.

When to see a doctor

Consult your doctor if you experience any unexplained symptoms that worry you. Many other conditions can cause these symptoms, so your doctor can check for these conditions as well as pancreatic cancer.

The causes of pancreatic cancer

It is not known what causes pancreatic cancer. Doctors have identified certain factors that may increase the risk of this type of cancer, including smoking and certain inherited genetic mutations.

Understanding your pancreas

Your pancreas is about 15 centimeters long and looks like a pear lying on its side. It releases (secrets) hormones, including insulin, to help your body process the sugar in the food you eat. And it produces digestive juices to help your body digest food and absorb nutrients.

How pancreatic cancer forms

Pancreatic cancer occurs when cells in your pancreas develop changes (mutations) in their DNA. A cell's DNA contains the instructions that tell a cell what to do. These mutations tell cells to grow out of control and continue to live after normal cells die. These accumulating cells can form a tumour. When left untreated, pancreatic cancer cells can spread to nearby organs and blood vessels and to distant parts of the body.
Most pancreatic cancers start in the cells that line the ducts of the pancreas. This type of cancer is called pancreatic adenocarcinoma or exocrine cancer of the pancreas. Less commonly, cancer can form in the hormone-producing cells or neuroendocrine cells of the pancreas. These types of cancer are called pancreatic neuroendocrine tumors, islet cell tumors, or pancreatic endocrine cancer.

Risk factors

Factors that may increase your risk of pancreatic cancer include:
 Smoking.
 Diabetes.
 Chronic inflammation of the pancreas (pancreatitis).
 Family history of genetic syndromes that may increase the risk of cancer, including a BRCA2 gene mutation, the Lynch syndrome and familial atypical mole malignant melanoma syndrome (FAMMM).
 Family history of pancreatic cancer.
 Obesity.
 Older age, as most people are diagnosed after age 65.
A large study has shown that the combination of smoking, long-standing diabetes and poor diet increases the risk of pancreatic cancer beyond the risk of any of these factors alone.

Complications

As pancreatic cancer progresses, it can lead to complications such as:
Weight Loss. A number of factors can cause weight loss in people with pancreatic cancer. Weight loss can occur when cancer consumes the body's energy. Nausea and vomiting caused by cancer treatments or a tumor pressing on your stomach can make eating difficult. Or your body may have trouble processing nutrients from food because your pancreas isn't producing enough digestive juices.
Jaundice. Pancreatic cancer that blocks the bile duct from the liver can cause jaundice. Signs include yellow skin and eyes, dark-colored urine, and light-colored stools. Jaundice usually occurs without abdominal pain.
Pain. A growing tumor can press on nerves in the abdomen, causing pain that can become severe. Painkillers can help you feel more comfortable. Treatments, such as radiation therapy and chemotherapy, can help slow tumor growth and relieve pain.
In severe cases, your doctor may recommend a procedure to inject alcohol into the nerves that control pain in your abdomen (celiac plexus block). This procedure prevents nerves from sending pain signals to your brain.
A bowel obstruction. Pancreatic cancer that grows or presses on the first part of the small intestine (duodenum) can block the flow of digested food from your stomach to your intestines.
Your doctor may recommend that a tube (stent) be placed in your small intestine to keep it open. In some situations, it may help to have surgery to place a temporary feeding tube or to attach your stomach to a lower point in your intestines that isn't blocked by cancer.

Prevention

You can lower your risk of pancreatic cancer if you:
Quit Smoking. If you smoke, try to quit. Talk to your doctor about strategies to help you quit, including support groups, medications, and nicotine replacement therapy. If you don't smoke, don't start.
Maintain a healthy weight. If you are at a healthy weight, work to maintain it. If you need to lose weight, aim for slow, steady weight loss - 1 to 2 pounds (0.5 to 1 kilogram) per week. Combine daily exercise with a diet rich in vegetables, fruits and whole grains with smaller portions to help you lose weight.
Choose a healthy diet. A diet rich in colorful fruits and vegetables and whole grains may help reduce your risk of cancer.
Consider seeing a genetic counselor if you have a family history of pancreatic cancer. He or she can review your family health history with you and determine if you might benefit from genetic testing to understand your risk for pancreatic cancer or other cancers.

What treatments are available?

In 10 to 20% of cases, it is possible to remove the tumor by surgery with the aim of curing the disease. It is a complex operation, most often completed with chemotherapy 4 to 8 weeks later.
Surgical resection of the tumorous part of the pancreas is the basis of curative treatment for pancreatic cancer. It is only possible if the tumor remains localized in the pancreas without having spread tumor cells into other organs, responsible for the formation of daughter tumors called metastases.
The most common sites of pancreatic metastases are the liver and lungs. Their research is part of the pre-operative assessment of pancreatic cancer carried out by chest and pelvic abdominal CT scan, to which a PET scan can be added if necessary (injection of a sugar marked with a radioactive tracer which will bind to the dividing tumor cells).
Local peripancreatic invasion of neighboring organs or vessels can either prove to be resectable with the tumor by more complex surgery with venous vascular reconstructions (invasion of the superior mesenteric vein, portal vein or the splenic vein) or constitute a contraindication to surgical excision which is sometimes only identified during the intervention leading the surgeon to give up pancreatectomy in favor of other surgical procedures intended to treat the symptoms: biliary diversion to treat jaundice by restoring a circuit for bile, gastric bypass to avoid digestive occlusion by the tumour.
Chemotherapy uses anti-cancer drugs that act throughout the body on all cancer cells, including those that are not detected by examinations. It may require the placement of an implantable chamber. GEMCITABINE is now routinely offered after curative resection of pancreatic cancer. It has shown its effectiveness in reducing the risk of recurrence. The duration of this treatment is 6 months. This product is also offered in the event of an unresectable tumour. Other chemotherapies can then also be used.
If the tumor is not operable, chemotherapy, combined in some cases with radiotherapy, can help slow the development of the disease, relieve symptoms (reduce pain in particular) and improve the quality of life.
The tumor can obstruct the flow of bile to the intestine causing itching and jaundice. In this case, it is necessary to drain the bile by placing a stent endoscopically or by performing a bypass by surgical operation.
The procedure involves the removal of part of the stomach, the gallbladder, part of the bile ducts, the head of the pancreas and the entire duodenum.

What is tracking?

Follow-up depends on the stage at which your cancer was diagnosed and the treatment you received. The schedule and duration are determined with your doctor in collaboration with the specialized team that carried out the treatment. Long-term monitoring after pancreatectomy for pancreatic cancer is based on regular check-ups, most often combining clinical examination with blood assays for ACE and CA 19-9 and radiological examination of the abdomen (ultrasound, scanner, MRI) and lungs. A nutritional follow-up is set up as soon as possible.
Your doctor will also tell you the signs that should lead you to urgent medical attention: itching and jaundice in particular.
The occurrence of a recurrence of the cancer, local intra-abdominal or distant metastatic is possible even beyond 10 years after the initial surgery only very rarely justifies a reoperation. Its treatment is based on chemotherapy possibly associated with radiotherapy.
The various doctors involved in monitoring keep each other informed. In some cases, you may be offered access to specialized palliative care teams.

• Convalescence dans notre clinique en Tunisie
    Tunisie Esthetic
    Aide, assistance, perfection
  • Bloc opératoire
    Le confort de séjour
    et de convalescence
  • Chirurgien de Tunisie Esthetic
    Meilleurs chirurgiens
    diplômés en France ou aux U.S.A
  • Equipe médical de Tunisie Esthetic
    Personnel médical
    hautement qualifié et expérimenté
  • Equipement médical de notre clinique partenaire
    Equipements médicaux
    ultra-modernes

Traitements du cancer du pancréas en Tunisie

titre

Définition

Traitement du cancer du pancréas avec Tunisie EstheticLe cancer du pancréas commence dans les tissus de votre pancréas - un organe de votre abdomen qui se trouve derrière la partie inférieure de votre estomac. Votre pancréas libère des enzymes qui facilitent la digestion et produit des hormones qui aident à gérer votre glycémie.
Plusieurs types de croissance peuvent survenir dans le pancréas, y compris des tumeurs cancéreuses et non cancéreuses. Le type de cancer le plus courant qui se forme dans le pancréas commence dans les cellules qui tapissent les canaux qui transportent les enzymes digestives hors du pancréas (adénocarcinome canalaire pancréatique).
Le cancer du pancréas est rarement détecté à ses débuts lorsqu'il est le plus guérissable. C'est parce qu'il ne provoque souvent pas de symptômes avant de se propager à d'autres organes.
Les options de traitement du cancer du pancréas sont choisies en fonction de l'étendue du cancer. Les options peuvent inclure la chirurgie, la chimiothérapie, la radiothérapie ou une combinaison de ceux-ci.

Symptômes du cancer pancréatiqueé

Les signes et symptômes du cancer du pancréas n'apparaissent souvent que lorsque la maladie est avancée. Ils peuvent inclure:
 Douleur abdominale qui irradie dans le dos.
 Perte d'appétit ou perte de poids involontaire.
 Jaunissement de votre peau et du blanc de vos yeux (jaunisse).
 Urine de couleur foncée.
 La peau qui gratte.
 Nouveau diagnostic de diabète ou diabète existant qui devient plus difficile à contrôler.
 Caillots sanguins.
 Fatigue.

Quand voir un médecin

Consultez votre médecin si vous ressentez des symptômes inexpliqués qui vous inquiètent. De nombreuses autres conditions peuvent provoquer ces symptômes, de sorte que votre médecin peut vérifier ces conditions ainsi que le cancer du pancréas.

Les causes du cancer du pancréas

On ne sait pas ce qui cause le cancer du pancréas. Les médecins ont identifié certains facteurs susceptibles d'augmenter le risque de ce type de cancer, notamment le tabagisme et certaines mutations génétiques héréditaires.

Comprendre votre pancréas

Votre pancréas mesure environ 15 centimètres de long et ressemble à une poire couchée sur le côté. Il libère (sécrète) des hormones, y compris l'insuline, pour aider votre corps à transformer le sucre dans les aliments que vous mangez. Et il produit des sucs digestifs pour aider votre corps à digérer les aliments et à absorber les nutriments.

Comment se forme le cancer du pancréas

Le cancer du pancréas survient lorsque les cellules de votre pancréas développent des changements (mutations) dans leur ADN. L'ADN d'une cellule contient les instructions qui indiquent à une cellule ce qu'elle doit faire. Ces mutations indiquent aux cellules de se développer de manière incontrôlable et de continuer à vivre après la mort des cellules normales. Ces cellules qui s'accumulent peuvent former une tumeur. Lorsqu'elles ne sont pas traitées, les cellules cancéreuses du pancréas peuvent se propager aux organes et vaisseaux sanguins voisins et à des parties éloignées du corps.
La plupart des cancers du pancréas commencent dans les cellules qui tapissent les canaux du pancréas. Ce type de cancer est appelé adénocarcinome pancréatique ou cancer exocrine du pancréas. Moins fréquemment, le cancer peut se former dans les cellules productrices d'hormones ou les cellules neuroendocrines du pancréas. Ces types de cancer sont appelés tumeurs neuroendocrines du pancréas, tumeurs des cellules des îlots ou cancer endocrinien du pancréas.

Facteurs de risque

Les facteurs qui peuvent augmenter votre risque de cancer du pancréas comprennent:
 Fumeur.
 Diabète.
 Inflammation chronique du pancréas (pancréatite).
 Antécédents familiaux de syndromes génétiques pouvant augmenter le risque de cancer, y compris une mutation du gène BRCA2, le syndrome de Lynch et le syndrome de mélanome malin taupe atypique familial (FAMMM).
 Antécédents familiaux de cancer du pancréas.
 Obésité.
 Un âge plus avancé, car la plupart des gens sont diagnostiqués après 65 ans.
Une vaste étude a démontré que la combinaison du tabagisme, du diabète de longue date et d'une mauvaise alimentation augmente le risque de cancer du pancréas au-delà du risque de l'un de ces facteurs seuls.

Complications

À mesure que le cancer du pancréas évolue, il peut entraîner des complications telles que:
Perte de poids. Un certain nombre de facteurs peuvent entraîner une perte de poids chez les personnes atteintes d'un cancer du pancréas. Une perte de poids peut survenir lorsque le cancer consomme l'énergie du corps. Les nausées et les vomissements causés par les traitements anticancéreux ou une tumeur pressant votre estomac peuvent rendre la nourriture difficile. Ou votre corps peut avoir des difficultés à traiter les nutriments des aliments parce que votre pancréas ne produit pas suffisamment de sucs digestifs.
Jaunisse. Le cancer du pancréas qui bloque la voie biliaire du foie peut provoquer une jaunisse. Les signes comprennent la peau et les yeux jaunes, l'urine de couleur foncée et les selles de couleur pâle. La jaunisse survient généralement sans douleur abdominale.
Douleur. Une tumeur en croissance peut exercer une pression sur les nerfs de l'abdomen, provoquant une douleur qui peut devenir intense. Les analgésiques peuvent vous aider à vous sentir plus à l'aise. Les traitements, tels que la radiothérapie et la chimiothérapie, peuvent aider à ralentir la croissance tumorale et à soulager la douleur.
Dans les cas graves, votre médecin peut recommander une procédure pour injecter de l'alcool dans les nerfs qui contrôlent la douleur dans votre abdomen (bloc du plexus cœliaque). Cette procédure empêche les nerfs d'envoyer des signaux de douleur à votre cerveau.
Une occlusion intestinale. Le cancer du pancréas qui se développe ou appuie sur la première partie de l'intestin grêle (duodénum) peut bloquer l'écoulement des aliments digérés de votre estomac vers vos intestins.
Votre médecin peut recommander qu'un tube (stent) soit placé dans votre intestin grêle pour le maintenir ouvert. Dans certaines situations, il peut être utile de subir une intervention chirurgicale pour placer une sonde d'alimentation temporaire ou pour attacher votre estomac à un point inférieur de vos intestins qui n'est pas bloqué par le cancer.

La prévention

Vous pouvez réduire votre risque de cancer du pancréas si vous:
Arrêter de fumer. Si vous fumez, essayez d'arrêter. Discutez avec votre médecin des stratégies pour vous aider à arrêter, y compris les groupes de soutien, les médicaments et la thérapie de remplacement de la nicotine. Si vous ne fumez pas, ne commencez pas.
Maintenez un poids santé. Si vous avez un poids santé, travaillez pour le maintenir. Si vous avez besoin de perdre du poids, visez une perte de poids lente et régulière - 1 à 2 livres (0,5 à 1 kilogramme) par semaine. Combinez l'exercice quotidien avec une alimentation riche en légumes, fruits et grains entiers avec de plus petites portions pour vous aider à perdre du poids.
Choisissez une alimentation saine. Une alimentation riche en fruits et légumes colorés et en grains entiers peut aider à réduire votre risque de cancer.
Envisagez de rencontrer un conseiller en génétique si vous avez des antécédents familiaux de cancer du pancréas. Il ou elle peut revoir vos antécédents familiaux de santé avec vous et déterminer si vous pourriez bénéficier d'un test génétique pour comprendre votre risque de cancer du pancréas ou d'autres cancers.

Quels sont les traitements disponibles ?

Dans 10 à 20 % des cas, il est possible d’enlever la tumeur par une intervention chirurgicale avec pour objectif de guérir de la maladie. Il s’agit d’une opération complexe, le plus souvent complétée d’une chimiothérapie 4 à 8 semaines plus tard.
La résection chirurgicale de la partie tumorale du pancréas constitue la base du traitement à visée curative des cancers du pancréas. Elle n’est envisageable que si la tumeur reste localisée au pancréas sans avoir essaimé des cellules tumorales dans d’autres organes, responsables de la formation de tumeurs filles appelées métastases.
Les sites les plus fréquents des métastases d’origine pancréatiques sont le foie et les poumons. Leur recherche fait partie du bilan pré-opératoire des cancers du pancréas réalisé par le scanner thoracique et abdomino pelvien auquel peut être ajouté si nécessaire un PET-scan (injection d’un sucre marqué par un traceur radio-actif qui va se fixer sur les cellules tumorales en division).
L’envahissement local péri pancréatique d’organes ou de vaisseaux voisins peut soit s’avérer résécable avec la tumeur par une intervention chirurgicale plus complexe avec reconstructions vasculaires veineuses (envahissement de la veine mésentérique supérieure, de la veine porte ou de la veine splénique) soit constituer une contre indication à l’exérèse chirurgicale qui n’est parfois identifiée qu’en cours d’intervention conduisant le chirurgien à renoncer à la pancréatectomie au profit d’autres gestes chirurgicaux destinés à traiter les symptômes : dérivation biliaire pour traiter l’ictère en restaurant un circuit pour la bile, dérivation gastrique pour éviter une occlusion digestive par la tumeur.
La chimiothérapie utilise des médicaments anticancéreux qui agissent dans l’ensemble du corps sur toutes les cellules cancéreuses, y compris celles qui ne sont pas repérables par les examens. Elle peut nécessiter la pose d’une chambre implantable. La GEMCITABINE est aujourd’hui systématiquement proposée après la résection à visée curative d’un cancer du pancréas. Elle a montré son efficacité pour réduire le risque de récidive. La durée de ce traitement est de 6 mois. Ce produit est également proposé en cas de tumeur non résécable. D’autres chimiothérapies peuvent être alors également utilisées.
Si la tumeur n’est pas opérable, une chimiothérapie, associée dans certains cas à une radiothérapie, peut contribuer à ralentir le développement de la maladie, à soulager les symptômes (diminuer les douleurs notamment) et à améliorer la qualité de vie.
La tumeur peut créer un obstacle à l’écoulement de la bile vers l’intestin provoquant démangeaisons et jaunisse. Dans ce cas, il est nécessaire de drainer la bile en posant une endoprothèse par voie endoscopique ou en réalisant une dérivation par opération chirurgicale.
L’intervention comprend l’ablation d’une partie de l’estomac, de la vésicule biliaire, d’une partie des voies biliaires, de la tête du pancréas et de la totalité du duodénum.

En quoi consiste le suivi ?

Le suivi dépend du stade auquel a été diagnostiqué votre cancer et du traitement que vous avez reçu. Le calendrier et la durée sont déterminés avec votre médecin en collaboration avec l’équipe spécialisée ayant réalisé le traitement. La surveillance au long cours après pancréatectomie pour cancer du pancréas est basée sur des contrôles réguliers associant le plus souvent à l’examen clinique un dosage sanguin de l’ACE et du CA 19-9 et un examen radiologique de l’abdomen (échographie, scanner, IRM) et des poumons. Un suivi nutritionnel est mis en place au plus tôt.
Votre médecin vous indique également les signes qui doivent vous amener à consulter en urgence : démangeaisons et jaunisse notamment.
La survenue d’une récidive du cancer, locale intra abdominale ou métastatique à distance est possible même au-delà de 10 ans après la chirurgie initiale ne justifie que très rarement une réintervention chirurgicale. Son traitement est basé sur la chimiothérapie éventuellement associée à la radiothérapie.
Les différents médecins participant à la surveillance se tiennent mutuellement informés. Dans certains cas, il peut vous être proposé de recourir à des équipes spécialisées en soins palliatifs.