Brain tumors

|     Total Confirmed 1.146.991|     Total deaths 29.268|     People hospitalized 44|     Total tests 4.974.456|     Total doses vaccinated 13.155.275|     New cases 192|     New deaths 2|     New tests 2.669|    ***     More informations here     ***

Brain tumors


Definition

Brain tumors Tunisia price cheap priceBrain tumors or tumors of the central nervous system (CNS), are an extremely heterogeneous group of neoplasms, which differ in morphology, site of onset, biology, clinical behavior, prognosis and therapeutic approach.
Brain tumors are divided into primary (mostly from the central nervous system) and secondary tumors or metastases, which originally develop in other organs, such as the lungs or breasts, and then spread to tissue nervous. Among primary brain tumors, there is a further distinction between glial tumors, or gliomas, which account for approximately 40% of all CNS tumors in adults, and non-glial tumors.
Tumors of the central nervous system are quite rare: In Europe, an average of 5 cases per year of primary tumors of the central nervous system are diagnosed per 100,000 inhabitants, which represents 2% of all cancer deaths.
The spread of more sophisticated imaging techniques (CT and MRI of the brain) is among the factors that have contributed to a gradual increase in the number of new cases per year (incidence), more relevant in the upper age group at age 65, in which the incidence more than doubled. Since there is no possibility of "early diagnosis", most of these tumors are diagnosed after the onset of symptoms.

What are central nervous system tumours?

Primary brain tumors, which grow directly into central nervous tissue, are very different neoplasms which, in turn, can be distinguished into glial tumors (or gliomas) , which arise from glial cells with neuronal support and nutrition functions, and non-glial tumors.

Glial tumors

Glial tumors differ from each other on the basis of the type of cells from which they arise (astrocytes, oligodendroglial cells and ependymal cells) and on the degree of differentiation or malignancy. Traditionally, gliomas have been divided into low-grade tumors (low-grade glioma, LGG), more common between the ages of 20 and 40, or high-grade or malignant tumors (high-grade glioma, HGG) also called anaplastic gliomas, more frequent from 40 to 70 years. After the age of 70, glioblastoma multiforme is certainly the most common and aggressive form.
Glioblastoma can in turn be divided into primary arising de novo (wild-type IDH; non-mutated) and secondary arising from the evolution of a lower-grade form (mutated IDH).
The most common glial tumors or gliomas are:
 Astrocytomas (including glioblastomas) which account for approximately 85% of all adult gliomas.
 Oligodendrogliomas.
 Ependymomas.

Non-glial tumors

This is a very diverse group of (primary) brain tumors that do not arise from glial cells and which divide into:
Medulloblastoma: is the most common malignant brain tumor of childhood and adolescence, with a peak incidence between 2 and 7 years (much rarer beyond 21 years), which appears in the posterior cranial fossa and can develop in both hemispheres of the cerebellum (in the adult) or in the cerebellar worm (in pediatric age). It is a very aggressive and rapidly growing tumour, which however rarely develops extracranial metastases; however, it can spread to other parts of the central nervous system through brain fluid.
Meningioma: it is the brain tumor, usually benign, which originates in the arachnoid, the intermediate meninge which, together with the other two, envelops the entire central nervous system (brain and spinal cord) and accounts for 15% of all brain tumors, 90% are intracranial (2 cases per 100,000 inhabitants) and almost all are above the tent. It is more common in women between the ages of 60 and 70 and has a higher frequency in patients with neurofibromatosis type 2.
Primary lymphomas of the central nervous system: represent 2 to 3% of all brain tumors in immunocompetent patients (after organ transplant, with congenital immunodeficiency or autoimmune disease, or infected with the AIDS virus), especially men and women between the ages of 55 and 60 , while nearly 50% of all lymphomas develop in patients over the age of 60 and about 25% over the age of 70. Most central nervous system (CNS) lymphomas are of the large B-cell type.
Pituitary tumours: mostly benign, they develop in the pituitary gland and can alter its functioning, with significant effects on the production of hormones necessary for the body.

Risk factors

It is estimated that only 5% of glial cancers have a hereditary component, but there are different risk factors for neurological cancers. Some possible risk factors are also common to other oncological diseases, while the presence of some rare hereditary syndromes plays a role in the inactivation of tumor suppressor genes.
They represent risk factors for glial tumours:
 Age: most of them are diagnosed between 60 and 80 years old.
 Exposure to ionizing radiation: this is the best-known environmental risk factor for the development of gliomas, even twenty years after exposure, as shown by studies carried out on children subjected to irradiation of the skull for oncological diseases and on subjects exposed to nuclear explosions. However, no increased risk has been demonstrated by radiation used in diagnostic procedures.
 Exposure to carcinogens such as vinyl chloride, pesticides and fertilizers.
 Use of mobile phones: the relationship between the use of mobile phones (smartphones) and gliomas is very discussed and not proven. A recent analysis has instead highlighted a potential increase in the risk of developing acoustic neuromas (OR 2.4) and gliomas (OR 2.0) with cell phone use for several hours a day and for long periods of time (more ten years).
 Immunodeficiency: the decline in immune defenses (as in AIDS patients for example) is a risk factor occurrence of primary lymphomas of the central nervous system.
 Neurofibromatosis type I and type II.
 Li Fraumeni Syndrome.
 Turcot Syndrome.
 Von Hippel Lindau Syndrome.
 Cowden Syndrome.
 Presence in the family (first and second degree relatives) of an astrocytoma (RR 3.82 and 1.91) and only for first-degree relatives of patients with gliobastoma (RR 2.29); further studies will be needed to clarify a possible association with environmental factors and to identify the molecular alterations associated with this familiarity.
There are currently no known risk factors associated with diet and lifestyle.

Symptoms

Symptoms of a brain tumor are due to increased intracranial pressure and compression of brain structures. The clinical manifestations and symptoms vary according to the site affected, the size and the aggressiveness of the disease, and are caused by the mass effect or the infiltration of the brain (cerebral parenchyma) and the destruction of brain tissue.
The most common symptoms are:
 Headaches: these are usually severe headaches in people who don't have them never suffered before, or they increase in frequency and intensity in people who have already suffered from them. Associated with the mass effect (presence of intracranial mass), about 35% of patients are affected by headaches, especially if the headache attacks (or migraines) are stronger in the morning and are associated with nausea, vomiting or other symptoms of neurological origin.
 Convulsions: these occur in about 30% of patients with glioma, especially low-grade ones.
 Visual problems: blurry, double vision or loss of peripheral vision.
 Nausea and vomiting.
 Memory loss.
 Mental confusion, spatial-temporal disorientation.
 Movement disorders.
 Disorders of sensitivity.
 Impaired understanding of written or spoken language.
 Balance disorders
 Difficulty articulating speech.
 Sensory Hallucinations.
 Behavioral changes and unstable personality.
 Hearing problems (sudden).
 Sphincter incontinence..

Diagnostic

Typically, the diagnosis of a brain tumor begins after the patient has contacted their GP for symptoms. The doctor then assesses the need for additional investigations with the specialist in neurology or prescribes instrumental diagnostic tests. In some cases, however, the onset of symptoms is sudden and requires urgent evaluation in the emergency room.

Operation

Surgery to completely remove (radical surgery) or the largest possible volume of tumor is the standard treatment for all brain tumors, but it is not always a viable option. Once the tumor mass has been surgically removed, the goal is to define the histological diagnosis and improve the patient's quality of life. When only partial removal is possible, the goal of surgery is to avoid disabling and permanent neurological deficits for the patient. In some cases, however, surgery is absolutely not possible.
The complete removal of the tumor, in addition to producing a significant improvement in symptoms, allows to improve the possible response to radiotherapy and chemotherapy, thanks to a more efficient oxygenation of the tumor tissues. In high and low grade gliomas, according to the results of a recent review of scientific publications, there is a correlation between radical surgery and a more favorable prognosis.
Brain tumor surgery involves strategic and multidisciplinary preoperative planning through the study of tumor morphology with CT and MRI, and metabolic with PET, to define the functional location of the lesion to be removed.
The surgery requires a craniotomy (the opening of the skull) with sophisticated instruments, intraoperative neurophysiological techniques that identify "critical" areas for language, movement and coordination, and preserve them during removal of the tumor mass. Depending on the tumor characteristics, the operation can take place under general anesthesia or with intraoperative awakening (awakening surgery).

Radiotherapy

After surgery, radiotherapy generally aims to target tumor residues localized by MRI (or PET), with high-energy ionizing radiation, i.e. a beam of penetrating photons of 5-10 MeV energy, to damage the DNA of cancerous cells, destroy them, and try to preserve, at the same time, the healthy cells and the tissues adjacent to the mass.
It is possible to perform conformal radiotherapy , a technique capable of concentrating the beam of radiation more effectively and thus reducing the exposure of surrounding healthy tissues and the side effects, paying particular attention to the structures critical such as optic nerves, optical chiasm and medulla oblongata.
In some cases, stereotactic radiotherapy or radiosurgery may be indicated, which in 2-3 sessions allows very high doses of radiation to be directed in a single fraction directly on the "target" (the tumor mass or its residue after removal).

Chemotherapy

In the medical treatment of brain tumours, the choice of chemotherapy depends on the type of tumour, the patient's clinical picture and the presence of comorbidities (other illnesses). Chemotherapy uses drugs that can inhibit the growth and proliferation of cancer cells, causing them to die. Chemotherapy drugs that can cross the blood-brain barrier can be given orally or intravenously, alone or in combination with other drugs, or in combination with radiation therapy.

Rehabilitation

Motor, cognitive and/or behavioral rehabilitation is a fundamental aspect of the treatment of patients with brain tumors, both for the direct impairment of certain neurological functions induced by the disease (for example, hemiparesis or monoparesis, balance disorders, speech and reading disorders, memory, spatio-temporal orientation), and as a result of the treatments carried out.
Rehabilitation treatment aims to regain the person's autonomy, thanks to different personalized rehabilitation approaches (motor physiotherapy, speech therapy, occupational therapy).
The evaluation of the neurological rehabilitation specialist is fundamental before and during rehabilitation, also using specific scientifically validated tests, in order to establish on which areas and abilities it is essential to intervene to obtain the best functional recovery and possible quality of life for the patient.

Tumeurs cérébrales

|     Total confirmé 1.147.072|     Total décès 29.268|     Personnes hospitalisées 44|     Total tests 4.975.826|     Total doses vaccinées 13.189.345|     Nouveau cas 81|     Nouveau décès 0|     Nouveaux tests 1.370|    ***     Plus d'informations ici     ***


Tumeurs cérébrales


Défintion

Tumeurs cérébrales Tunisie prix tarif pas cherLes tumeurs cérébrales ou tumeurs du système nerveux central (SNC) , sont un groupe extrêmement hétérogène de néoplasmes, qui diffèrent par la morphologie, le site d'apparition, la biologie, le comportement clinique, le pronostic et l'approche thérapeutique.
Les tumeurs cérébrales sont divisées en tumeurs primaires (provenant principalement du système nerveux central) et secondaires ou métastases , qui se développent à l'origine dans d'autres organes, tels que les poumons ou les seins, puis se propagent au tissu nerveux. Parmi les tumeurs cérébrales primitives, il existe une autre distinction entre les tumeurs gliales , ou gliomes , qui représentent environ 40 % de toutes les tumeurs du SNC chez l'adulte, et les tumeurs non gliales .
Les tumeurs du système nerveux central sont assez rares : En Europe, une moyenne de 5 cas par an de tumeurs primitives du système nerveux central pour 100 000 habitants sont diagnostiqués, ce qui représente 2 % de tous les décès par cancer.
La diffusion de techniques d'imagerie plus sophistiquées (CT et IRM du cerveau) fait partie des facteurs qui ont contribué à une augmentation progressive du nombre de nouveaux cas par an (incidence), plus pertinente dans la tranche d'âge supérieure à 65 ans, dans laquelle l'incidence a plus que doublé. Puisqu'il n'y a pas de possibilité de "diagnostic précoce", la plupart de ces tumeurs sont diagnostiquées après l'apparition des symptômes.

Que sont les tumeurs du système nerveux central ?

Les tumeurs cérébrales primaires , qui se développent directement dans le tissu nerveux central, sont des néoplasmes très différents qui, à leur tour, peuvent être distingués en tumeurs gliales (ou gliomes ), qui proviennent de cellules gliales ayant des fonctions de soutien et de nutrition des neurones , et non- tumeurs gliales .

Tumeurs gliales

Les tumeurs gliales diffèrent les unes des autres sur la base du type de cellules dont elles sont issues (astrocytes, cellules oligodendrogliales et cellules épendymaires) et sur le degré de différenciation ou de malignité. Traditionnellement, les gliomes ont été divisés en tumeurs de bas grade (gliome de bas grade, LGG), plus fréquentes entre 20 et 40 ans, ou en tumeurs de haut grade ou malignes (gliome de haut grade, HGG) également appelées gliomes anaplasiques, plus fréquents à partir de 40 à 70 ans. Après 70 ans, le glioblastome multiforme est certainement la forme la plus fréquente et la plus agressive.
Le glioblastome peut à son tour être divisé en primitif apparaissant de novo (IDH de type sauvage ; non muté) et secondaire résultant de l'évolution d'une forme de grade inférieur (IDH muté).
Les tumeurs gliales ou gliomes les plus courantes sont :
 Les astrocytomes (y compris les glioblastomes ) qui représentent environ 85 % de tous les gliomes adultes.
 Oligodendrogliomes.
 Ependymomes.

Tumeurs non gliales

Il s'agit d'un groupe très diversifié de tumeurs cérébrales (primitives) qui ne proviennent pas de cellules gliales et qui se divisent en :
Le médulloblastome : est la tumeur cérébrale maligne la plus fréquente de l'enfance et de l'adolescence, avec un pic d'incidence entre 2 et 7 ans (beaucoup plus rare au-delà de 21 ans), qui apparaît dans la fosse crânienne postérieure et peut se développer dans les deux hémisphères du cervelet (chez l'adulte) ou dans le ver cérébelleux (à l'âge pédiatrique). C'est une tumeur très agressive et à croissance rapide, qui développe cependant rarement des métastases extracrâniennes ; cependant, il peut se propager à d'autres parties du système nerveux central par le liquide cérébral.
Méningiome : c'est la tumeur cérébrale, généralement bénigne, qui prend naissance dans l' arachnoïde , le méninge intermédiaire qui, avec les deux autres, enveloppe tout le système nerveux central (cerveau et moelle épinière) et représente 15 % de toutes les tumeurs cérébrales, 90 % sont intracrâniens (2 cas pour 100 000 habitants) et se situent presque tous au-dessus de la tente. Elle est plus fréquente chez les femmes âgées de 60 à 70 ans et a une fréquence plus élevée chez les patients atteints de neurofibromatose de type 2.
Lymphomes primitifs du système nerveux central : représentent 2 à 3 % de toutes les tumeurs cérébrales chez les patients immunocompétents (après greffe d'organe, atteints d'immunodéficience congénitale ou d'une maladie auto-immune, ou infectés par le virus du SIDA), en particulier les hommes et les femmes âgés de 55 à 60 ans ans, tandis que près de 50 % de tous les lymphomes se développent chez des patients de plus de 60 ans et, environ 25 %, de plus de 70 ans. La plupart des lymphomes du système nerveux central (SNC) sont du type à grandes cellules B.
Tumeurs de l'hypophyse : majoritairement bénignes, elles se développent dans l'hypophyse et peuvent altérer son fonctionnement, avec des effets importants sur la production d'hormones nécessaires à l'organisme.

Facteurs de risque

On estime que seulement 5 % des cancers gliaux ont une composante héréditaire, mais il existe différents facteurs de risque pour les cancers neurologiques. Certains facteurs de risque possibles sont également communs à d'autres maladies oncologiques, tandis que la présence de certains syndromes héréditaires rares joue un rôle dans l'inactivation des gènes suppresseurs de tumeurs.
Ils représentent des facteurs de risque des tumeurs gliales :
 L'âge : la plupart d'entre eux sont diagnostiqués entre 60 et 80 ans.
 L'exposition aux rayonnements ionisants : c'est le facteur de risque environnemental le plus connu pour le développement de gliomes, même vingt ans après l'exposition, comme le démontrent des études menées sur des enfants soumis à une irradiation du crâne pour des maladies oncologiques et sur des sujets exposés à des explosions nucléaires. Cependant, aucun risque accru n'a été mis en évidence par les rayonnements utilisés dans les procédures de diagnostic.
 L'exposition à des agents cancérigènes tels que le chlorure de vinyle, les pesticides et les engrais.
 Utilisation des téléphones portables : la relation entre l'utilisation des téléphones portables (smartphones) et les gliomes est très discutée et non prouvée. Une analyse récente a plutôt mis en évidence une augmentation potentielle du risque de développer des neurinomes de l'acoustique (OR 2.4) et des gliomes (OR 2.0) avec l'utilisation du téléphone portable plusieurs heures par jour et pendant de longues périodes (plus de dix ans).
 Immunodéficience : la baisse des défenses immunitaires (comme chez les malades du SIDA par exemple) est un facteur de risque de survenue de lymphomes primitifs du système nerveux central.
 Neurofibromatose de type I et de type II.
 Syndrome de Li Fraumeni.
 Syndrome de Turcot.
 Syndrome de von Hippel Lindau.
 Syndrome de Cowden.
 Présence dans la famille (parents au premier et deuxième degré) d'un astrocytome (RR 3,82 et 1,91) et uniquement pour les parents au premier degré de patients atteints de gliobastome (RR 2,29) ; d'autres études seront nécessaires pour clarifier une éventuelle association avec des facteurs environnementaux et pour identifier les altérations moléculaires associées à cette familiarité.
Il n'existe actuellement aucun facteur de risque connu associé à l'alimentation et au mode de vie.

Les symptômes

Les symptômes d'une tumeur cérébrale sont dus à une augmentation de la pression intracrânienne et à une compression des structures cérébrales. Les manifestations cliniques et les symptômes varient selon le site atteint, la taille et l'agressivité de la maladie, et sont causés par l'effet de masse ou l'infiltration du cerveau (parenchyme cérébral) et la destruction des tissus cérébraux.
Les symptômes les plus courants sont :
 Maux de tête : il s'agit généralement de maux de tête sévères chez les personnes qui n'en ont jamais souffert auparavant, ou ils augmentent en fréquence et en intensité chez les personnes qui en ont déjà souffert. Associés à l'effet de masse (présence de masse intracrânienne), environ 35 % des patients sont concernés par des céphalées , surtout si les crises de céphalées (ou migraines) sont plus fortes le matin et sont associées à des nausées, des vomissements ou d'autres symptômes d'origine neurologique.
 Convulsions : elles surviennent chez environ 30 % des patients atteints de gliome, en particulier de bas grade.
 Problèmes visuels : flou, vision double ou perte de la vision périphérique.
 Nausées et vomissements.
 Perte de mémoire.
 Confusion mentale, désorientation spatio-temporelle.
 Troubles du mouvement.
 Troubles de la sensibilité.
 Compréhension altérée de la langue écrite ou parlée.
 Troubles de l'équilibre
 Difficulté à articuler la parole.
 Hallucinations sensorielles.
 Changements de comportement et personnalité instable.
 Problèmes d'audition (soudains).
 Incontinence sphinctérienne..

Diagnostic

En règle générale, le diagnostic d'une tumeur au cerveau commence après que le patient a contacté son médecin généraliste pour des symptômes. Le médecin évalue alors la nécessité d'investigations complémentaires avec le spécialiste en neurologie ou prescrit des tests diagnostiques instrumentaux. Dans certains cas, cependant, l'apparition des symptômes est soudaine et nécessite une évaluation urgente aux urgences.

Opération

La chirurgie pour l'ablation complète ( chirurgie radicale ) ou le plus grand volume possible de tumeur est le traitement standard pour toutes les tumeurs cérébrales, mais ce n'est pas toujours une option viable. Une fois la masse tumorale enlevée chirurgicalement, l'objectif est de définir le diagnostic histologique et d'améliorer la qualité de vie du patient. Lorsque seule une ablation partielle est possible, le but de la chirurgie est d'éviter des déficits neurologiques invalidants et permanents pour le patient. Dans certains cas, cependant, la chirurgie n'est absolument pas possible.
L'ablation complète de la tumeur , en plus de produire une amélioration significative des symptômes, permet d'améliorer la réponse possible à la radiothérapie et à la chimiothérapie, grâce à une oxygénation plus efficace des tissus tumoraux. Dans les gliomes de haut et de bas grade, selon les résultats d'une revue récente des publications scientifiques, il existe une corrélation entre la chirurgie radicale et un pronostic plus favorable.
La chirurgie des tumeurs cérébrales implique une planification préopératoire stratégique et pluridisciplinaire grâce à l'étude de la morphologie tumorale avec le scanner et l'IRM, et métabolique avec la TEP, pour définir la localisation fonctionnelle de la lésion à enlever.
La chirurgie nécessite une craniotomie (l'ouverture du crâne) avec des instruments sophistiqués, des techniques neurophysiologiques peropératoires qui permettent d'identifier les zones "critiques" pour le langage, le mouvement et la coordination, et de les préserver lors de l'ablation de la masse tumorale. En fonction des caractéristiques tumorales, l'intervention peut se dérouler sous anesthésie générale ou avec réveil peropératoire ( chirurgie éveillée ).

Radiothérapie

Après chirurgie, généralement, la radiothérapie vise à cibler des résidus tumoraux localisés par IRM (ou PET), avec des rayonnements ionisants de haute énergie, c'est-à-dire un faisceau de photons pénétrants de 5-10 MeV d'énergie, pour endommager l'ADN des cellules cancéreuses, les détruire, et essayer de préserver, en même temps, les cellules saines et les tissus adjacents à la masse.
Il est possible d'effectuer une radiothérapie conformationnelle , une technique capable de concentrer plus efficacement le faisceau de rayonnement et de réduire ainsi l'exposition des tissus sains environnants et les effets secondaires, en accordant une attention particulière aux structures critiques telles que les nerfs optiques, le système optique chiasme et bulbe rachidien.
Dans certains cas, une radiothérapie stéréotaxique ou une radiochirurgie peuvent être indiquées, ce qui en 2-3 séances permet de diriger de très fortes doses de rayonnement en une seule fraction directement sur la « cible » (la masse tumorale ou son résidu après ablation) .

Chimiothérapie

Dans le traitement médical des tumeurs cérébrales, le choix de la chimiothérapie dépend du type de tumeur, du tableau clinique du patient et de la présence de comorbidités (autres maladies). La chimiothérapie utilise des médicaments qui peuvent inhiber la croissance et la prolifération cellulaire des cellules cancéreuses, provoquant leur mort. Les médicaments de chimiothérapie capables de traverser la barrière hémato-encéphalique peuvent être administrés par voie orale ou intraveineuse, seuls ou en association avec d'autres médicaments, ou en association avec la radiothérapie.

Réhabilitation

La rééducation motrice , cognitive et/ou comportementale est un aspect fondamental du traitement des patients atteints de tumeurs cérébrales, tant pour l'atteinte directe de certaines fonctions neurologiques induites par la maladie (par exemple, hémiparésie ou monoparésie, troubles de l'équilibre, troubles de la parole, de la lecture , mémoire, orientation spatio-temporelle), et à la suite des traitements effectués.
Le traitement de rééducation vise à retrouver l'autonomie de la personne, grâce à différentes approches de rééducation (kinésithérapie motrice, orthophonie, ergothérapie) personnalisées.
L'évaluation du spécialiste en réadaptation neurologique est fondamentale avant et pendant la réadaptation, en utilisant également des tests spécifiques scientifiquement validés, afin d'établir sur quels domaines et capacités il est essentiel d'intervenir pour obtenir la meilleure récupération fonctionnelle et qualité de vie possible pour le malade.