Tibial osteotomy surgery

|     Total Confirmed 1.146.991|     Total deaths 29.268|     People hospitalized 44|     Total tests 4.974.456|     Total doses vaccinated 13.155.275|     New cases 192|     New deaths 2|     New tests 2.669|    ***     More informations here     ***

Tibial valgus osteotomy


What is it about ?

tibial osteotomy tunisia price cheap priceInitial internal femoro-tibial osteoarthritis of the knee in subjects under 60 years of age is a pathology that generally occurs on a defect in the axis of the lower limb (genu varum). The surgical treatment consists of performing a tibial osteotomy in order to remove this anomaly by correcting the axis of the lower limb. The weight distribution will then be in a non-painful zone. This conservative intervention makes it possible to avoid or delay the use of a total knee prosthesis.

Definition of internal osteoarthritis

internal tibial osteoarthritis tunisia price cheap priceIncipient internal osteoarthritis is the wear of the cartilage present between the femur and the tibia of the internal part of the knee. The morphology of the lower limb is often the main cause. On a Genu Varum form, all the weight of the body passes through this inner part of the knee causing premature wear of the cartilage and the meniscus.
These anatomical lesions will cause pain in the knee as well as stiffness and difficulty walking requiring the use of anti-inflammatories and painkillers.

Why an operation?

There is, at the level of the lower limb, a real "architectural" disorder of the axis of the knee which is in Genu Varum. This defect is congenital, bony and will not correct itself spontaneously over time; on the contrary, it tends to get worse due to internal wear of the joint. The natural evolution is towards the complete wear of the cartilage, an increasingly significant discomfort and an increasingly difficult walk with the appearance in addition of ligament lesions singularly aggravating the deformation and thus complicating the surgical treatment.
It is therefore necessary to act quickly in front of such a clinical picture in order to be able in the young and active subject to propose a conservative intervention (non-prosthetic) whose goal will be to relieve the internal part of the knee from the constraints which are exerted on its level and thus to slow down the progression of osteoarthritis by displacing the axis of the knee by means of a corrective osteotomy.
It is the tibial valgus osteotomy that corrects this architectural disorder and whose primary goal is to restore a more physiological axis of the lower limb.

Definition of tibial valgus osteotomy

The tibial valgus osteotomy aims to correct the axis of the lower limb. This correction is made by a partial section of the tibia just below the knee joint in the metaphyseal area.
We can perform external subtraction osteotomies (by removing an external bone wedge) or internal addition osteotomies (by adding a bone substitute wedge). We have chosen for many technical reasons to mainly use the technique of internal addition osteotomies.
A short incision is made at the lower inner part of the knee. The tibia bone is exposed, the tendons, arteries and nerves are pushed aside. A pin visualizing the future bone section is placed under radiographic control.
The tibia bone is then partially cut with a saw, leaving an external part intact which will create a bone hinge. The limb axis is corrected by opening the slice of section, thus playing on the elasticity of the well-preserved external bone hinge.
The size of the internal opening is determined according to the initial deformation. A bone substitute wedge is then introduced into the osteotomy site to maintain the desired correction. The size of this wedge is, of course, determined very precisely according to the deformity to be corrected and thanks to the preoperative planning.
A plate bridging the osteotomy is then fixed to the tibia by screws, thus allowing the correction obtained to be maintained and rapid weight-bearing thanks to the solidity of the assembly.

Rehabilitation and return to activity

During the first 3 weeks following the operation, walking is done using two canes in order to relieve the knee of your weight with a strict offloading of your lower limb. The splint is maintained during your movements.
At the end of the 3rd week, you will consult your surgeon with a control radio. The progressive loading of your lower limb will then be programmed. Rehabilitation can therefore be started, it will insist on muscle maintenance and recovery as well as on weight-bearing. If your knee lock is correct, the brace can be permanently removed. There is no limitation in the flexion of your joint. The resumption of driving is possible as soon as walking is done without crutches, generally after the 2nd month. The resumption of professional activities depends on the physical load imposed on your knee, it takes an average of 3 months off.

Risks and complications

 The main complication of tibial valgus osteotomy by addition is the absence of consolidation of the osteotomy occurring in 2 to 5% of cases. In this case a new intervention is essential and consists in making a bone graft which generally allows a good secondary consolidation.
 Phlebitis may also occur requiring appropriate treatment by a specialist. The follow-up of the preventive treatment is therefore essential.
 A post-operative hematoma is a rare complication but requiring surgical drainage when it occurs.
 The risks listed do not constitute an exhaustive list. Your surgeon will give any additional explanation and will be at your disposal to discuss with you each particular case with the advantages, disadvantages and risks of the intervention.

The expected results of your operation

These procedures are indicated for patients under the age of 60. They allow patients to see the pain disappear in the majority of cases, however sometimes there may persist a small painful bottom compared to the preoperative period.
The advantage over fitting a prosthesis is the feeling of still having a natural knee and being able to flex it more significantly.
Normal walking without any lameness is generally obtained in the 3rd month following the intervention. The beneficial effect of a tibial valgus osteotomy lasts on average about ten years. If the pain reappears after this time, the installation of a knee prosthesis will then be considered.

• Convalescence dans notre clinique en Tunisie
    Tunisie Esthetic
    Aide, assistance, perfection
  • Chambre
    Le confort de séjour
    et de convalescence
  • Chirurgien de Tunisie Esthetic
    Meilleurs chirurgiens
    diplômés en France ou aux U.S.A
  • Equipe médical de Tunisie Esthetic
    Personnel médical
    hautement qualifié et expérimenté
  • Equipement médical de notre clinique partenaire
    Equipements médicaux
    ultra-modernes

L'osteotomie tibiale de valgisation en Tunisie

title

De quoi s’agit-il ?

osteotomie tibiale tunisie prix tarif pas cherL’arthrose fémoro-tibiale interne débutante du genou chez le sujet de moins de 60 ans est une pathologie qui survient généralement sur un défaut d’axe du membre inférieur (genu varum). Le traitement chirurgical consiste en la réalisation d’une ostéotomie tibiale afin de supprimer cette anomalie en corrigeant l’axe du membre inférieur. La répartition du poids se fera alors en zone non douloureuse. Cette intervention conservatrice permet d’éviter ou de retarder le recours à une prothèse totale de genou.

Définition de l'arthrose interne

arthrose interne tibiale tunisie prix tarif pas cherL’arthrose débutante interne est l’usure du cartilage présent entre le fémur et le tibia de la partie interne du genou . La morphologie du membre inférieur en est souvent la cause principale. Sur une forme en Genu Varum, tout le poids du corps passe par cette partie interne du genou entraînant une usure prématurée du cartilage et du ménisque.
Ces lésions anatomiques vont occasionner des douleurs au niveau du genou ainsi qu’un enraidissement et une difficulté à la marche nécessitant l’utilisation d’anti-inflammatoires et d’anti- douleurs.

Pourquoi une opération ?

Il y a, au niveau du membre inférieur, un véritable trouble « architectural » de l’axe du genou qui est en Genu Varum. Ce défaut est congénital, osseux et ne se corrigera pas spontanément avec le temps ; bien au contraire, il a tendance à s’aggraver en raison de l’usure interne de l’articulation. L’évolution naturelle se fait vers l’usure complète du cartilage, une gêne de plus en plus importante et une marche de plus en plus difficile avec apparition en plus de lésions ligamentaires aggravant singulièrement la déformation et compliquant donc le traitement chirurgical.
Il faut donc agir rapidement devant un tel tableau clinique afin de pouvoir chez le sujet jeune et actif proposer une intervention conservatrice (non prothétique) dont le but sera de soulager la partie interne du genou des contraintes qui s’exercent à son niveau et de ralentir ainsi l’évolution de l’arthrose en déplaçant l’axe du genou par une ostéotomie correctrice.
C’est l’ostéotomie tibiale de valgisation qui permet de corriger ce trouble architectural et dont le but premier est de rétablir un axe plus physiologique du membre inférieur.

Définition de l'osteotomie tibiale de valgisation

L’ostéotomie tibiale de valgisation vise à corriger l’axe du membre inférieur. Cette correction est faite par une section partielle du tibia juste en dessous de l’articulation du genou en zone métaphysaire.
On peut réaliser des ostéotomies de soustraction externe (en enlevant un coin osseux externe) ou des ostéotomies d’addition interne (en ajoutant un coin en substitut osseux). Nous avons choisi pour de nombreuses raisons techniques d’avoir recours principalement à la technique des ostéotomies d’addition interne.
Une incision courte est réalisée à la partie interne basse du genou. L’os du tibia est exposé, les tendons, artères et nerfs sont écartés. Une broche visualisant la future section osseuse est placée sous contrôle radiographique.
L’os du tibia est alors partiellement sectionné à la scie, en laissant une partie intacte externe qui va réaliser une charnière osseuse. La correction de l’axe du membre est réalisée en ouvrant la tranche de section jouant ainsi sur l’élasticité de la charnière osseuse externe bien conservée
La taille de l’ouverture interne est déterminée en fonction de la déformation initiale. Une cale en substitut osseux (fig. 3 du diaporama ci-dessous) est alors introduite dans le foyer d’ostéotomie pour maintenir la correction souhaitée (fig. 4 du diaporama ci-dessous). La taille de cette cale est, bien entendu, déterminée très précisément en fonction la déformation à corriger et grâce à la planification pré-opératoire.
Une plaque (fig. 5 du diaporama ci-dessous) pontant l’ostéotomie est alors fixée au tibia par des vis permettant ainsi le maintien de la correction obtenue et une remise en charge rapide grâce à la solidité du montage.

Réeducation et reprise de l'activité

Pendant les 3 premières semaines suivant l’opération, la marche s’effectue à l’aide de deux cannes afin de soulager le genou de votre poids avec une mise en décharge stricte de votre membre inférieur. L’attelle est maintenue lors de vos déplacements.
A la fin de la 3ème semaine, vous consulterez votre chirurgien muni d’une radio de contrôle . La mise en charge progressive de votre membre inférieur sera alors programmée. La rééducation peut donc être débutée, elle insistera sur l’entretien et la récupération musculaire ainsi que sur la mise en charge. Si le verrouillage de votre genou est correct, l’attelle peut être définitivement enlevée. Il n’y a aucune limitation dans la flexion de votre articulation.
 La reprise de la conduite est envisageable dès que la marche s’effectue sans béquilles, généralement après le 2ème mois. La reprise des activités professionnelles est fonction de la charge physique imposée à votre genou, il faut compter en moyenne 3 mois d’arrêt.

Les risques et complications

 La complication principale de l’ostéotomie tibiale de valgisation par addition est l’absence de consolidation de l’ostéotomie survenant dans 2 à 5% des cas. Dans ce cas une nouvelle intervention est indispensable et consiste à faire une greffe osseuse qui permet généralement une bonne consolidation secondaire.
 Une phlébite peut également survenir nécessitant un traitement adapté par un spécialiste. Le suivi du traitement préventif est donc primordial.
 Un hématome post-opératoire est une complication rare mais nécessitant quand elle survient un drainage chirurgical.
 Les risques énumérés ne constituent pas une liste exhaustive. Votre chirurgien donnera toute explication complémentaire et se tiendra à votre disposition pour évoquer avec vous chaque cas particulier avec les avantages, les inconvénients et les risques de l’intervention.

Les résultats attendus de votre opération

Ces interventions sont indiquées chez des patients âgés de moins de 60 ans. Elles permettent aux patients de voir les douleurs disparaître dans la majorité des cas toutefois parfois il peut persister un petit fond douloureux minime comparé à la période pré-opératoire.
L’avantage par rapport à la mise en place d’une prothèse est la sensation d’avoir toujours un genou naturel et de pouvoir le fléchir de manière plus importante.
La marche normale sans aucune boiterie est obtenue généralement au 3ème mois suivant l’intervention.L’effet bénéfique d’une ostéotomie tibiale de valgisation dure en moyenne une dizaine d’années. Si les douleurs réapparaissent au bout de ce délai, la pose d’une prothèse de genou sera alors à envisager.