Pituitary tumors

|     Total Confirmed 1.146.991|     Total deaths 29.268|     People hospitalized 44|     Total tests 4.974.456|     Total doses vaccinated 13.155.275|     New cases 192|     New deaths 2|     New tests 2.669|    ***     More informations here     ***

Removal of pituitary tumors


What does pituitary gland surgery treat?

pituitary tumor removal tunisia price cheap priceThe removal of tumors coming from the hypophysis (or pituitary gland), an endocrine gland located at the base of the skull, is performed in the presence of tumors - benign in the large majority of cases - born from the gland itself. They are secretory pituitary adenomas, that is, hormone-producing or non-secreting adenomas. Other tumors affecting the sellar and/or suprasellar region, although not having their origin in the pituitary gland (craniopharyngiomas, meningiomas, metastases, Rathke's pouch cysts, chordomas) are of neurosurgical competence.
The purpose of the intervention is to radically remove the tumor, if the anatomical conditions allow it, without damaging the pituitary gland and its functionality. In some cases, where the functionality of the gland is already compromised by the presence of the tumor, the intervention can also allow an improvement in the hormonal situation. Similarly, when the presence of a large tumor leads to visual disturbances and/or a reduction in the visual field, the intervention allows, in the vast majority of cases, the normalization of the visual function or its marked improvement. In the cases of patients with secreting adenomas (GH, ACTH) the ablation of the tumor causes the scarring of the consequent endocrinopathy (respectively acromegaly, Cushing's disease) in more than 80% of the cases. Intervention is also indicated in TSH-secreting adenomas, while prolactin-producing (PRL) adenomas are treated with medical therapy and intervention is needed in a minority of subjects with tumors resistant to medical therapy or intolerant to the therapy itself.

How is the pituitary gland removed?

Removal of tumors from the pituitary region can be accomplished by means of transcranial access, or nasally and subsequent passage through the sphenoid bone (transphenoidal access). Transphenoidal access is the first choice in almost all cases as it provides better results with minimal side effects, since many of the previously mentioned tumors are predominantly located in the midline. The transcranial route is rather chosen in the case of tumors that laterally pass the plane formed by the optic nerves and the carotids.
If the transcranial approach is used, the patient is placed in the supine position on the operating bed under general anesthesia. Passing through the largest nostril, the ostium of the phenoid sinus is identified using the endoscope (in 3D) and a large opening in the anterior wall of the sphenoid is made. Once inside the sphenoid sinus, the sella turcica is identified, opened and the tumor removed trying to preserve the normal pituitary gland. At the end of the procedure, the saddle is closed with autologous bone or cartilage. In the event of a CSF leak, it may also be necessary to use a small piece of fat taken from the patient's abdomen.

Advantages and disadvantages of removal of pituitary adenomas?

Although modern surgical techniques allow pituitary adenomas to be removed while minimizing the risk of complications, the consequences the body faces can be endocrine-like. Hypopituitarism (insufficient secretion of pituitary hormones), to varying degrees, can occur in less than 10% of cases and in these patients it will be necessary to institute a replacement drug treatment (thyroid hormones, cortisol, estrogen, testosterone).

Is the removal of pituitary adenomas a painful and/or dangerous procedure?

The surgery is not particularly invasive and/or dangerous. Mortality is less than 1 case out of 1000 and overall endocrine or strictly surgical complications do not exceed 10% of cases overall. Post-operative headaches are generally mild and limited in time. In particular, the most modern endoscopic techniques guarantee fewer anatomo-functional alterations of the areas involved in the operation and faster postoperative follow-up than in the past.

Who can have surgery to remove a pituitary adenoma?

The patients for whom there may be particular contraindications to this type of surgical approach are the very elderly and/or frail and those with significant problems related to blood coagulation, as with any other surgical intervention.

Surgical follow-up

Since the removal of a pituitary adenoma is a minimally invasive but extremely delicate procedure, it is advisable to rest a few days after the operation, also for recovery from anesthesia. After removal of the adenoma, the patient undergoes regular endocrinological and instrumental checks by means of magnetic resonance imaging.

Tumeurs hypophysaire

|     Total confirmé 1.147.072|     Total décès 29.268|     Personnes hospitalisées 44|     Total tests 4.975.826|     Total doses vaccinées 13.189.345|     Nouveau cas 81|     Nouveau décès 0|     Nouveaux tests 1.370|    ***     Plus d'informations ici     ***


Enlèvement des tumeurs de l'hypophyse


Que traite la chirurgie de l'hypophyse?

ablation tumeurs hypophyse tunisie prix tarif pas cherL'ablation des tumeurs provenant de l'hypophyse (ou glande pituitaire), glande endocrine située à la base du crâne, est réalisée en présence de tumeurs - bénignes dans la grande majorité des cas - nées de la glande elle-même. Ce sont des adénomes hypophysaires sécrétants , c'est-à-dire des adénomes producteurs d'hormones ou non sécrétants . D'autres tumeurs affectant la région sellaire et/ou suprasellaire, bien que n'ayant pas leur origine dans l'hypophyse (craniopharyngiomes, méningiomes, métastases, kystes de la poche de Rathke, chordomes) sont de compétence neurochirurgicale.
Le but de l'intervention est d'enlever radicalement la tumeur , si les conditions anatomiques le permettent, sans endommager l'hypophyse et sa fonctionnalité. Dans certains cas, où la fonctionnalité de la glande est déjà compromise par la présence de la tumeur, l'intervention peut également permettre une amélioration de la situation hormonale. De même, lorsque la présence d'une grosse tumeur entraîne des troubles visuels et/ou une réduction du champ visuel , l'intervention permet, dans la grande majorité des cas, la normalisation de la fonction visuelle ou sa nette amélioration. Dans les cas de patients avecadénomes sécrétants (GH, ACTH) l'ablation de la tumeur provoque la cicatrisation de l'endocrinopathie conséquente (respectivement acromégalie, maladie de Cushing) dans plus de 80% des cas. L'intervention est également indiquée dans les adénomes sécrétant de la TSH , tandis que les adénomes qui produisent de la prolactine (PRL) sont traités par thérapie médicale et l'intervention est nécessaire chez une minorité de sujets présentant des tumeurs résistantes à la thérapie médicale ou intolérantes à la thérapie elle-même.

Comment la glande pituitaire est-elle retirée?

L'ablation des tumeurs de la région hypophysaire peut être réalisée au moyen d'un accès transcrânien , ou par voie nasale et passage ultérieur à travers le sphénoïde (accès transphénoïdal). L'accès transphénoïdal est le premier choix dans presque tous les cas car il fournit de meilleurs résultats avec des effets secondaires minimes, étant donné que bon nombre des tumeurs mentionnées précédemment sont principalement situées sur la ligne médiane. La voie transcrânienne est plutôt choisie dans le cas de tumeurs qui passent latéralement le plan formé par les nerfs optiques et les carotides.
Si l'approche transcrânienne est utilisée, le patient est placé en décubitus dorsal sur le lit opératoire sous anesthésie générale. Passant par la narine la plus large, l'ostium du sinus phénoïde est identifié à l'aide de l'endoscope (en 3D) et une large ouverture de la paroi antérieure du sphénoïde est pratiquée. Une fois à l'intérieur du sinus sphénoïdal, la selle turcique est identifiée, ouverte et la tumeur retirée en essayant de préserver l' hypophyse normale . À la fin de la procédure, la selle est fermée avec de l'os ou du cartilage autologue. En cas de fuite de LCR, il peut également être nécessaire d'utiliser un petit fragment de graisse prélevé sur l'abdomen du patient.

Avantages et les inconvénients de l'ablation des adénomes hypophysaires ?

Bien que les techniques chirurgicales modernes permettent l' ablation des adénomes hypophysaires tout en limitant au minimum les risques de complications, les conséquences auxquelles l'organisme est confronté peuvent être de type endocrinien . L'hypopituitarisme (sécrétion insuffisante d'hormones hypophysaires), à des degrés divers, peut survenir dans moins de 10% des cas et chez ces patients il faudra instaurer un traitement médicamenteux substitutif (hormones thyroïdiennes, cortisol, œstrogène, testostérone).

L'ablation des adénomes hypophysaires est-elle une procédure douloureuse et/ou dangereuse ?

La chirurgie n'est pas particulièrement invasive et/ou dangereuse. La mortalité est inférieure à 1 cas sur 1000 et globalement les complications endocriniennes ou strictement chirurgicales ne dépassent pas 10% des cas globalement. Les céphalées post- opératoires sont généralement légères et limitées dans le temps. En particulier, les techniques endoscopiques les plus modernes garantissent moins d'altérations anatomo-fonctionnelles des zones impliquées dans l'opération et un suivi postopératoire plus rapide que par le passé.

Qui peut subir une intervention chirurgicale pour retirer un adénome hypophysaire ?

Les patients pour lesquels il peut y avoir des contre-indications particulières à ce type d'approche chirurgicale sont les personnes très âgées et/ou fragiles et celles présentant des problèmes importants liés à la coagulation sanguine, comme pour toute autre intervention chirurgicale.

Suites opératoire

L'ablation d'un adénome hypophysaire étant une procédure peu invasive mais extrêmement délicate, il est conseillé de se reposer quelques jours après l'opération, également pour la récupération de l'anesthésie. Après l'ablation de l'adénome, le patient subit des contrôles endocrinologiques et instrumentaux réguliers au moyen d'une imagerie par résonance magnétique .