Hepatectomy

|     Total Confirmed 1.139.241|     Total deaths 29.153|     People hospitalized 29|     Total tests 4.881.502|     Total doses vaccinated 14.913.093|     New cases 4.581|     New deaths 48|     New tests 18.443|    ***     More informations here     ***

Liver surgery (hepatectomies)

titre

Indications

Liver surgery (hepatectomy) with Tunisie EstheticMost hepatectomies are performed for the treatment of hepatic neoplasms, either benign or malignant. Benign neoplasms include hepatocellular adenoma, hepatic hemangioma, and focal nodular hyperplasia. The most common malignant neoplasms (cancers) of the liver are metastases; those resulting from colorectal cancer are among the most common and most likely to undergo surgical resection. The most common primary malignant liver tumor is hepatocellular carcinoma. Hepatectomy may also be the procedure of choice to treat intrahepatic gallstones or parasitic liver cysts. Partial hepatectomies are also performed to remove part of the liver from a living donor for transplantation.

Techniques

A hepatectomy is considered major surgery performed under general anesthesia. Access is achieved by laparotomy, usually through a bilateral subcostal ("chevron") incision, possibly with midline extension (Calne's incision). An earlier approach, one of the most innovative, is simplified by the liver suspension maneuver. Hepatectomies can be anatomical, that is, the lines of resection correspond to the limits of one or more functional segments of the liver as defined by Couinaud's classification; or they may be non-anatomic, irregular, or "wedge" hepatectomies. Anatomical resections are generally preferred due to the lower risk of bleeding and biliary fistula; however, non-anatomic resections can also be performed safely in some cases. The Pringle maneuver is usually performed during hepatectomy to minimize blood loss – however, this can lead to reperfusion injury to the liver due to ischemia

Complications

LHaemorrhage is the most feared technical complication and may justify urgent reoperation. Biliary fistula is also a possible complication, although it lends itself more to non-surgical management. Pulmonary complications such as atelectasis and pleural effusion are common and dangerous in patients with underlying lung disease. The infection is relatively rare.
Liver failure poses a significant risk to patients with underlying liver disease; it is a major deterrent in the surgical resection of hepatocellular carcinoma in patients with cirrhosis. It is also a problem, to a lesser extent, in patients who have had previous hepatectomies (eg, repeat resections for reincident colorectal cancer metastases).

Results

Liver surgery is safe when performed by experienced surgeons with appropriate technological and institutional support. As with most major surgeries, there is a marked trend toward optimal outcomes from surgeons with high workloads in selected centers (usually cancer centers and transplant centers)
For optimal results, combination therapy with chemotherapy or systemic or regional biological therapy should be considered. Prior to surgery, cytotoxic agents such as systemically administered oxaliplatin for colorectal metastases, or chemoembolization for hepatocellular carcinoma can significantly reduce the size of the tumor mass, allowing resections that would only remove a segment or a corner part of the liver. These procedures can also be facilitated by the application of a liver clamp to minimize blood loss

Operative follow-up after hepatectomy

The patient is directed to the intensive care unit where he will spend 48 hours on average. If he has not been awakened in the recovery room, he will gradually be in intensive care. He is carrying an infusion, a urinary catheter but the gastric tube is removed as soon as he wakes up. Blood pressure, pulse and other cardiovascular parameters are constantly monitored by electronic devices which retransmit the results on a screen.
The 2 main complications that can occur during the stay in intensive care are:
 The haemorrhage which, if significant, will require a transfusion and/or reoperation.
 Liver failure related to the volume of liver removed and the state of the liver before the procedure (existence of cirrhosis). This hepatic insufficiency is generally transient and not very serious unless it persists beyond the fifth day. If these risks are ruled out, the patient is transferred to the traditional hospitalization unit where he will stay for 8 to 10 days. The patient will eat again as soon as intestinal transit resumes, the urinary catheter will be quickly removed, the abdominal drain from the 4th day if it no longer gives anything. Monitoring will be clinical (temperature, blood pressure, examination of the scar) and biological (coagulation factors, liver enzymes, white and red blood cells).
Two specific complications can occur during this period:
 Biliary fistula: bile flows through the drain (yellow liquid). If the flow is low, this fistula will dry up spontaneously. In case of high flow it signs a wound of a large bile duct. It is not necessary to re-operate the patient. These fistulas are treated endoscopically by slipping a plastic prosthesis into the main bile duct which will be removed once the fistula has dried up.
 The collection on the section edge: it can be a hematoma or a bilious collection (we speak of bilioma) superinfected. Clinically the patient is febrile, sometimes embarrassed to breathe. The level of white blood cells in the blood is high and the liver biological test is disturbed. The scanner makes it possible to make the diagnosis and to treat this abscess by draining it percutaneously under local anesthesia.

• Convalescence dans notre clinique en Tunisie
    Tunisie Esthetic
    Aide, assistance, perfection
  • Bloc opératoire
    Le confort de séjour
    et de convalescence
  • Chirurgien de Tunisie Esthetic
    Meilleurs chirurgiens
    diplômés en France ou aux U.S.A
  • Equipe médical de Tunisie Esthetic
    Personnel médical
    hautement qualifié et expérimenté
  • Equipement médical de notre clinique partenaire
    Equipements médicaux
    ultra-modernes

Chirurgie du foie (hépatectomies) en Tunisie

titre

Indications

Chirurgie du foie ( hépatectomie ) avec Tunisie EstheticLa plupart des hépatectomies sont effectuées pour le traitement des néoplasmes hépatiques , bénins ou malins. Les néoplasmes bénins comprennent l' adénome hépatocellulaire , l' hémangiome hépatique et l' hyperplasie nodulaire focale . Les néoplasmes malins (cancers) du foie les plus courants sont les métastases ; ceux résultant d'un cancer colorectal sont parmi les plus courants et les plus susceptibles de subir une résection chirurgicale. La tumeur maligne primitive du foie la plus courante est le carcinome hépatocellulaire . L'hépatectomie peut également être la procédure de choix pour traiter les calculs biliaires intrahépatiques ou parasitaireskystes du foie. Des hépatectomies partielles sont également pratiquées pour prélever une partie du foie d'un donneur vivant en vue d'une transplantation.

Technique

Une hépatectomie est considérée comme une intervention chirurgicale majeure réalisée sous anesthésie générale . L'accès est réalisé par laparotomie , généralement par une incision sous-costale bilatérale («chevron»), éventuellement avec une extension médiane (incision de Calne). Une approche antérieure, l'une des plus innovantes, est simplifiée par la manœuvre de suspension du foie. Les hépatectomies peuvent être anatomiques, c'est-à-dire que les lignes de résection correspondent aux limites d'un ou plusieurs segments fonctionnels du foie tels que définis par la classification de Couinaud; ou il peut s'agir d'hépatectomies non anatomiques, irrégulières ou «en coin». Les résections anatomiques sont généralement préférées en raison du moindre risque de saignement et de fistule biliaire; cependant, des résections non anatomiques peuvent également être effectuées en toute sécurité dans certains cas.La manœuvre de Pringle est généralement effectuée lors d'une hépatectomie pour minimiser la perte de sang - cependant, cela peut entraîner des lésions de reperfusion dans le foie dues à une ischémie

Complications

L'hémorragie est la complication technique la plus redoutée et peut justifier une réintervention urgente. La fistule biliaire est également une complication possible, même si elle se prête davantage à une prise en charge non chirurgicale. Les complications pulmonaires telles que l' atélectasie et l' épanchement pleural sont courantes et dangereuses chez les patients atteints d'une maladie pulmonaire sous-jacente. L'infection est relativement rare.
L'insuffisance hépatique présente un risque important pour les patients atteints d'une maladie hépatique sous-jacente; il s'agit d'un élément dissuasif majeur dans la résection chirurgicale du carcinome hépatocellulaire chez les patients atteints de cirrhose . C'est également un problème, dans une moindre mesure, chez les patients ayant déjà eu des hépatectomies (par exemple, des résections répétées pour des métastases de cancer colorectal réincidentes ).

Résultats

La chirurgie hépatique est sûre lorsqu'elle est pratiquée par des chirurgiens expérimentés bénéficiant d'un soutien technologique et institutionnel approprié. Comme pour la plupart des interventions chirurgicales majeures, il existe une tendance marquée vers des résultats optimaux de la part des chirurgiens ayant une charge de travail élevée dans des centres sélectionnés (généralement des centres de cancérologie et des centres de transplantation)
Pour des résultats optimaux, un traitement combiné avec une chimiothérapie ou une thérapie biologique systémique ou régionale doit être envisagé. Avant la chirurgie, les agents cytotoxiques tels que l'oxaliplatine administré par voie systémique pour les métastases colorectales, ou la chimioembolisation pour le carcinome hépatocellulaire peuvent réduire considérablement la taille de la masse tumorale, permettant alors des résections qui ne supprimeraient qu'un segment ou une partie en coin du foie. Ces procédures peuvent également être facilitées par l'application d'une pince hépatique afin de minimiser la perte de sang

Suites opératoires après hépatectomie

Le malade est dirigé vers l’unité de soins intensifs ou il passera 48 h en moyenne.S’il n’a pas été réveillé en salle de réveil il le sera progressivement en soins intensifs. Il est porteur d’une perfusion, d’une sonde urinaire mais la sonde gastrique est retirée dés le réveil. La tension artérielle, le pouls et d’autres paramètres cardiovasculaires sont surveillés en permanence par des appareils électroniques qui retransmettent les résultats sur un écran.
Les 2 principales complications pouvant survenir durant le séjour en soins intensifs sont :
 L’hémorragie qui si elle est importante nécessitera une transfusion et/ou une ré intervention.
 L’insuffisance hépatique liée au volume de foie enlevé et à l’état du foie avant l’intervention (existence d’une cirrhose). Cette insuffisance hépatique est généralement transitoire et peu grave sauf si elle persiste au-delà du cinquième jour. Si ces risques sont écartés le patient est transféré dans l’unité d’hospitalisation traditionnelle où il restera 8 à 10 jours. Le patient se réalimentera dés la reprise du transit intestinal, la sonde urinaire sera rapidement retirée, le drain abdominal à partir du 4ème jour s’il ne donne plus rien. La surveillance sera clinique (température, tension artérielle, examen de la cicatrice) et biologique (facteurs de coagulation, enzymes hépatiques, globules blancs et rouges).
Deux complications spécifiques peuvent survenir durant cette période :
 La fistule biliaire : de la bile s’écoule par le drain (liquide de couleur jaune). Si le débit est peu important cette fistule se tarira spontanément. En cas de débit élevé elle signe une plaie d’un gros canal biliaire. Il n’est pas nécessaire de réopérer le patient. Ces fistules se traitent par voie endoscopique en glissant dans le canal biliaire principal une prothèse en plastique qui sera retiré une fois la fistule asséchée.
 La collection sur la tranche de section : il peut s’agir d’un hématome ou d’une collection bilieuse (on parle de biliome) surinfecté. Cliniquement le patient est fébrile, parfois gêné pour respirer. Le taux de globules blancs dans le sang est élevé et le bilan biologique hépatique est perturbé. Le scanner permet de faire le diagnostic et de traiter cet abcès en le drainant par voie percutanée sous anesthésie locale.